Supporting business in Logan has been their role and in such challenging times for small business the Beenleigh Yatala Chamber of Commerce had their work cut out for them.

Many events that committee organised throughout the year were cancelled due to the pandemic, but they were always there for business owners when they reached out.

In the month just passed, Beenleigh Yatala Chamber of Commerce held their Annual General Meeting which saw a few committee members step down and new people voted in.

President Kerrie Saverin was re-elected for her third term with Secretary Shane Drew, Treasurer Leanne Taylor, Junior Chamber manager Heather Christensen and general committee member Lachlan Gardner all returning to their positions.

Newly elected committee members John Mulraney, Holly Hudson and Lee McKenzie McKinnon were welcomed by the chamber and are looking forward to the next 12 months.

The AGM breakfast was held at Lloyds Restaurant & Function Centre. Prior to the official meeting, the guests heard from Cr Karen Murphy Division 12, Melissa McMahon MP for Macalister, and Bert van Manen MP for Forde.

The three speakers spoke of different ways they can help businesses in Logan and what was on offer for owners seeking assistance. The floor was then opened for questions.

Most questions from business owners were COVID related and the future of vaccination passports and how it would affect their business.

Bert van Manen MP said that when people have been given both jabs, they get a certificate showing they have been vaccinated.

“People can use this to show businesses, who under the current legislation, can refuse entry to those who have not got this certificate if they choose.”

Melissa McMahon MP was questioned about police and other healthcare workers who do not get the injection on their job status.

“No police or healthcare workers will lose their jobs for not getting a vaccination,” said Ms McMahon. 

The Beenleigh Yatala Chamber of Commerce facilitates local business networking events, offers education opportunities, represents the needs and values of businesses within the community and provides members with opportunities for promotion.

L to R – Bert van Manen MP, Cr Karen Murphy and Melissa McMahon MP

President Kerrie Saverin said I am very happy that new committee members have come onboard.

“It’s a very exciting year and we are very optimistic. The chamber is going to continue to cut costs and bring value to all members.

“We are introducing webinars and more opportunities for members to speak to all levels of government. That’s our plan.”

Former President and now Logan City Councillor Karen Murphy said it was great to attend the Beenleigh Yatala Chamber of Commerce end of financial year AGM breakfast and witness the new committee coming in.

“The previous committee and Kerrie Saverin have done a wonderful job just staying afloat this year under the hard times of COVID.

“They have some new talent on the board, and I am looking forward to the year ahead.”

Previous articleNew Legislation Passed on Renting in Queensland
Next article20-Year-Old Falls from Moving Car in Eagleby