The first official meeting by the new Logan City Council was held yesterday and the leadership positions were the hot agenda item.

Councillor Jon Raven was elected Deputy Mayor after a secret ballot was held due to Councillor Lisa Bradley also being nominated for the position.

Mayor Darren Power said all elected members had participated in induction sessions across the organisation since taking their declarations of office last week.

“We are excited to hold our first official meeting since the election and to get down to business,” he said.

“With only a short window until we finalise the 2020/2021 Budget, the Councillors and I have hit the ground running, engaging with residents and listening to the needs of the community in these challenging times.

“Ensuring we continue to deliver essential services for our residents is also a priority, and when the time is right, resuming other services and programs that contribute to the wellbeing of our community.”

Cr Raven said he was “grateful for the opportunity” to serve the City of Logan as Deputy Mayor for a 12-month appointment.

“I’m looking forward to working closely with all councillors as part of a united team to deliver the Mayor’s priorities for the city and the councillors’ priorities for their divisions,” he said.

In addition to the vote on Deputy Mayor, the Chair and Deputy Chair positions were decided for Council’s committees:

Committee Chair Deputy Chair/s
City Governance Councillor Lisa Bradley Councillor Natalie Willcocks
City Infrastructure Councillor Teresa Lane Councillor Scott Bannan Councillor Tim Frazer
City Planning, Economic Development and Environment Councillor Jon Raven Councillor Miriam Stemp Councillor Karen Murphy
City Lifestyle Councillor Laurie Koranski Councillor Tony Hall Councillor Mindy Russell
Cr Tony Hall – Division 6

Mayor Power said the appointments reflected the diverse experience and vast skill set of the newly-elected Councillors.

“Already I can see we have people among the newer members of Council who will be able to deliver strong leadership for our community and make decisions that are in the best interests of our residents, ratepayers and businesses,” he said.

“With our new Council team, I look forward to reshaping the future vision of Logan as a city that meets the expectations of all residents and one that we can all be proud of.”

Council also adopted a schedule of meetings for the remainder of 2020. Committee meetings will be held a week before Ordinary Meetings, with the first Committee meetings to be held on Tuesday, May 19 and Wednesday, May 20, and the Ordinary Meeting on Wednesday, May 27.

Additionally, several councillors were appointed to represent Council on relevant external boards or organisations, including the Local Government Association of Queensland, Resilient Rivers Taskforce and the Logan Local Disaster Management Group.

Previous articleLogan Libraries Launch Home Learning Hub
Next articleOne Voice Services Resume in Logan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here