The annual Australian Education Awards is the leading independent awards event in the K-12 education sector and two Logan school staff members took the top awards.

The awards showcase the top-performing schools, principals, department heads and teachers for their outstanding achievements and transformative work that makes a profound difference to the lives of young people across Australia.

Hope Laavia from Marsden State High School – Education Queensland, was in a tough category and up against eight other heads of department. Ms Laavia was awarded the 2023 Department Head of the Year for her dedication and innovation.

Before becoming the principal of Mabel Park State High School, Trent Cowley was the principal of Kingston State School. This was also the time he was nominated for the awards. Mr Cowley won the Primary School Principal of The Year – Government for the work he did in his short time at Kingston.

Previous articleNew Logan Housing Project to Provide Safe Accommodation for Domestic Violence Victims
Next articleNew Seniors’ Social Club Coming to Loganholme