Division 11 Councillor Natalie Willcocks has been elected Chairperson of Logan City Council’s City Governance Committee.

Fellow first-term Councillor Karen Murphy from Division 12, was voted Deputy Chairperson of the same committee.

The appointments – made at today’s Ordinary Council Meeting – were required after Councillor Lisa Bradley resigned from the Chairperson role in November.

Cr Willcocks said she was honoured to be elected to the role in her first term after previously serving as Deputy Chairperson.

“We have already begun budget discussions for 2021/2022 and Councillor Murphy and I are looking forward to the opportunity to work collaboratively with the other Councillors and Council officers to deliver the budget.”

“The policy decisions this committee makes have long lasting impacts on the city’s future and are an important part of our duties in these roles.”

Cr Murphy said she was looking forward to working with Councillors and staff in her new role as Deputy Chairperson.

The City Governance Committee makes recommendations on strategy and policy relating to Council’s corporate governance, finance, facilities and property, human resources, information technology and fleet.

It is one of four standing committees that meet regularly to make recommendations that are later presented to Ordinary Council Meetings for endorsement through formal Council resolutions.

The next committee meetings are scheduled for February 16 and 17.

Previous articleDeputy Mayor Frustrated with Red Tape
Next articleModelling Paves the Way for Growth in Logan