Community champion Melinda Hartley is the major winner at the 2023 City of Logan Safe City Awards.

The annual awards, organised by Logan City Council, acknowledge the work of individuals, volunteer groups, not-for-profit organisations, government agencies and businesses.

Ms Hartley received the Stan Wells Award for her work with Yarrabilba-based charity 5FOLD during the awards presentation at Fitzy’s Loganholme.

The award honours former Jimboomba Neighbourhood Watch area co-ordinator, the late Stan Wells.

Ms Hartley established 5FOLD in 2022 to support the community.

The organisation provides essential weekly community services through an op shop, affordable haircuts, counselling, emergency relief, training and support and access to social groups.

Logan Safe City Awards - Resolve DJS
Logan Safe City Awards – Resolve DJS

More than 2000 free meals are provided each week by 5FOLD to students at four Yarrabilba schools and a community hub through the Yarrabilba Breakfast Clubs.

Ms Hartley is also part of the Yarrabilba Stakeholder Collaborative Network Group.

The Yarrabilba-focussed group meets regularly to provide a forum for information sharing and the discussion of community-led initiatives.

Ms Hartley has also inspired others to get involved in local neighbourhood events such as the Easterville family fun day.

City of Logan Mayor Darren Power said Ms Hartley has led the way in demonstrating the importance of helping others.

“I congratulate her on being among the winners of the 2023 Safe City Awards and also acknowledge the great work carried out locally by everyone recognised,” Cr Power said.

Logan Safe City Awards - Forestdale Neighbourhood Watch
Logan Safe City Awards – Forestdale Neighbourhood Watch

The 2023 award winners include:

Volunteer category

Winner: Kicking it at Kingston

The online group has a membership exceeding 1800 people who report local incidents and speak out when they see something is not right.

Runner-up: Forestdale Neighbourhood Watch

The group has evolved into Forestdale’s primary community and crime prevention body to assist residents, highlight community safety concerns and lobby representatives from all levels of government.

Not-for-profit category

Winner – Resolve

Since being launched last year by YFS, Resolve has provided one-on-one coaching to 65 young people and worked with almost 1500 others aged 10 to 16 years to reduce their involvement with the criminal justice system. Participants are supported to find accommodation, access food and transport, engage in education, navigate the youth justice system, find employment, explore their interests and improve their mental health and family relationships.

Runner-up – Harness

Men & Co Services run a free pilot project known as Harness on construction sites. They run toolbox talks to educate workers about issues such as wellbeing, mental health and healthy relationships to support individuals and their families.

Government/Business category:

Winner: Queensland Police Cross Cultural Liaison Unit

The Pacific Islander Roots and Pan-African Cultural early intervention programs operated by the Queensland Police Cross Cultural Liaison Unit are helping Kingston State School students make positive choices as officers work with the students.

Runner-up: Logan Queensland Police Service Mental Health Team

Logan District Police are trialling an early engagement process which involves police working closely with a Queensland Health clinician to identify anyone needing to be referred to appropriate mental health support services.

Neighbourhood Watch Awards

  • Christine Baker – Crestmead Neighbourhood Watch (NHW) – Silver award
  • Raj Aggarwal – Mundoolun NHW – Silver and bronze awards
  • Sharon Hamilton – Woodlands NHW group – Silver and bronze awards
  • Linda Casbolt – Woodlands NHW group – Silver and bronze awards

Silver awards are presented for five years’ service with bronze awards recognising three years’ service.

Previous articleNew Plan to Boost Creative Logan
Next articleLogan Nurse Finalist in National Palliative Care Awards